~Playing with buttons~

4 May

 

Today I felt a bit ‘meh’ and didn’t feel like doing much, so I did what I always do when I’m feeling like this…I got my buttons out! There is nothing better than pouring out a jar of beautiful buttons into a bowl and rummaging through, I love the feeling of them. It reminds me of when I was little and used to run my hands through the barrels of bird seed in pet shops!

I didn’t have a plan, I just wanted to do something creative that didn’t involve leaving the sofa! Here is what I came up with.

The button wire-heart I really like. I know you see them everywhere and they aren’t very original, but I love them all the same and wanted to create a nice bright one (we know how much I love my bright colours!) I only had some thin purple wire lying around, so I need to invest in some slightly sturdier stuff so that it keeps it’s lovely heart shape better.

I have also been wanting to do a bit more embroidery for a while. I did make my mum a ‘Home Sweet Home’ sign for Mothers Day(Picture on my Twitter account!)but have done nothing since then. So I thought since I was having a button loving day I would create something in honour of my love for buttons! Here it is!

What do you think?

6 Responses to “~Playing with buttons~”

  1. Lucy B May 5, 2012 at 10:22 am #

    Ahhh, love the button heart!

    • humbugbuttonbeetle May 5, 2012 at 12:43 pm #

      Me too!! I found some cat shaped ones you would love too in my collection! x

  2. J6891 May 6, 2012 at 6:47 am #

    Love it! I love buttons too. My button collection is very small at the moment though.

    • humbugbuttonbeetle May 6, 2012 at 8:43 am #

      Thank you! Mine started small and then grew to an obsessional amount! Ebay is good for bags of cheap buttons x

  3. HouseOFpinheiro (@HouseOFpinheiro) May 6, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

    Hi Lucy, lovely blog. nice to have you on our pincushion swap

    • humbugbuttonbeetle May 6, 2012 at 6:25 pm #

      Thank you. I’m really looking forward to finding out my swap buddy so I can get making!x

Leave a Reply

JACK MONROE

COOKING ON A BOOTSTRAP & MORE

Sarah Morris Photography

Delicate, Distinct, Different

My Other Loves

Travelling: Books: Films: Crochet: Comment: Knitting: Tea

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

A Quiet Riot

Unusual arts and textiles with a bit of sparkle...

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

you and mie

let's make things

Crochet with Raymond

The mad adventures of a lesbi@n hooker and her siamese cat!

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

thestitchsharer

Knitting, Crochet and Sewing for Beginners

Made from scratch

Living the 'make do and mend' life in Cornwall

I Love Today!! --4Cs--

Crochet, crafts, cooking, & cats

Musings from the Pigeon's Nest

The continuing adventures of a Bird and her boy.

Paula Bailey

Photographer, Designer, Researcher

TwoCupsOfTea

Hand Crafted Style

Hooked By Me

My Crochet Journal

stirandstitch

adventures in baking, sewing and crocheting

Georgina Giles

and sew to work...

