Delicious Decopatch

12 Nov

I have always wanted to try my hand at the wonderful art of Decopatch, but have always been a bit dubious about attacking pieces of furniture with glue and paper, fearing the worst would happen. Alas recently I went round a friends house for a cheese and wine night (we like to pretend we are sophisticated from time to time…)and she had decopatched a variety of items of furniture around her house and it looked wonderful! The items simply ignited the room and made it a joy of colours and vibrance, bringing the whole room to life. It gave me the push I needed!

A trip to Hobbycraft later ( I had some left over gift vouchers. Yays!) and I was set to attack my old donated coffee table that had seen better days.

It started life as this:

And it now looks like this 🙂 :

I am so happy with the result. The table has been given a new lease of life and I love it all over again.Now I can’t bare to put anything on it, it’s just too pretty! Along with the gorgeous green and pink Decopatch paper, I brought a lovely bright pink rose covered print, the initial plan being to cover the lower shelf of the table with it, but after second thoughts I wasn’t sure it needed it. Instead I used the paper to turn my dressing table mirror from this:

Into This! :

I am absolutely in love with this craft now, it is sooo simple and very therapeutic  I now can’t look at any surface of my house without thinking about what it would look like decopatched! I NEED HELP!

17 Responses to “Delicious Decopatch”

  1. TeresaFraser November 12, 2012 at 3:43 pm #

    You really did bring your furniture back to life, they look really good (and so unique) well done.

  2. Andrew Smith November 12, 2012 at 3:44 pm #

    That’s the tidiest Lucy’s dresser has ever been.

  3. Georgina Giles November 12, 2012 at 3:46 pm #

    O they look lovely! And very Lucy 🙂 Watch out Andy…she is coming!

    • humbugbuttonbeetle November 12, 2012 at 3:47 pm #

      Hehe..I have already warned him! He best not stand still for too long, I might just decopatch him! x

  4. Pillows A-La-Mode November 12, 2012 at 3:52 pm #

    Wow . . . that’s BEAUTIFUL!!! 🙂

  5. Daren Cooper November 12, 2012 at 3:54 pm #

    wow that is good, did you use pva? also what is the difference between decopache paper and everyday paper? If you need pva I will probably have a couple of pints leftover from plastering soon.

    • humbugbuttonbeetle November 12, 2012 at 4:52 pm #

      It’s a special Decopatch varish/glue combination. I’m not sure if PVA would do the same thing. And yea this is special paper, but you can use anything from book pages( which would look amaaazzing on bookshelves!) to wrapping paper to junk mail.x

  6. syndathim November 12, 2012 at 4:05 pm #

    Reblogged this on A.Smith and commented:
    Good little blog here from my awesome wife.

  7. Sazz November 12, 2012 at 8:07 pm #

    It all looks amazing! And aww shucks about being the one to give you the push to do it:)

    • humbugbuttonbeetle November 12, 2012 at 8:38 pm #

      Thank you 🙂 Your house just looked so amazing I simply had to have a go x

  8. daren November 12, 2012 at 8:12 pm #

    I want my pine shelves to be decopaged,we should negotiate a fee

  9. Sazz November 12, 2012 at 8:13 pm #

    And I can answer the question about PVA! It works fine on cardboard (e.g. I made myself a recipe box out of an old cardboard box, leftover pretty tissue paper and PVA) but it won’t have the same varnish sheen that decoupatch glue gives you… Though normal varnish can seal it instead if you’re doing furniture (thats just a bit faffier* as you have to be in a fairly dust free environment to stop it going all bobbly*)

    *technical terms

    • humbugbuttonbeetle November 12, 2012 at 8:41 pm #

      ahhh…thank you saz. Think I will be sticking to the special stuff, as having a dust free environment is highly unlikely in my house!x

Leave a Reply

JACK MONROE

COOKING ON A BOOTSTRAP & MORE

Sarah Morris Photography

Delicate, Distinct, Different

My Other Loves

Travelling: Books: Films: Crochet: Comment: Knitting: Tea

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

A Quiet Riot

Unusual arts and textiles with a bit of sparkle...

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

you and mie

let's make things

Crochet with Raymond

The mad adventures of a lesbi@n hooker and her siamese cat!

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

thestitchsharer

Knitting, Crochet and Sewing for Beginners

Made from scratch

Living the 'make do and mend' life in Cornwall

I Love Today!! --4Cs--

Crochet, crafts, cooking, & cats

Musings from the Pigeon's Nest

The continuing adventures of a Bird and her boy.

Paula Bailey

Photographer, Designer, Researcher

TwoCupsOfTea

Hand Crafted Style

Hooked By Me

My Crochet Journal

stirandstitch

adventures in baking, sewing and crocheting

Georgina Giles

and sew to work...

